Why fish is eaten instead of meat on Good Friday:
On Good Friday, many people remove meat from their diet. Fish is eaten instead.
- Good Friday is the most important day of fasting in Christianity.
- Christians abstain from meat to commemorate the death of Jesus.
- In the Orthodox Church, all animal products such as meat, fish, eggs and milk are forbidden.
- The Catholic Church bans meat and stimulants such as sweets or alcohol, but not fish.
- Therefore, on Good Friday, believers should eat only one filling meal. Meat should be avoided altogether.
- You can find out here how you can prepare a delicious fish dish on Good Friday.